Wine Innovation Cluster
You are here: 
text zoom : S | M | L
Printer Friendly Version
Further Enquiries

Wine Innovation Cluster


Wine Innovation Central Building,
Waite Campus
Corner of Hartley Grove and Paratoo Road
Urrbrae SA 5064

Postal Address

PO Box 197
Glen Osmond
South Australia 5064

Telephone: +61 8 8313 6600


The Research Group

The Research Group comprises senior scientists from the four Partner Organisations.  Responsible to the WIC Leadership Group, the role of the Research Group is to lead collaborative wine research and development by the  Partners.  The Groups membership is listed below.

Clicking on a name will take you to the individual's webpage for details of their career and interests (where available).

Dr Mike McCarthyPrincipal Scientist - SARDI (Viticulture Research Program Leader). Affiliate Senior Lecturer, The University of AdelaideWater stress effects on plant growth and development and the use and adoption of soil water monitoring technology.For further information, visit the SARDI website.
Dr Markus Herderich

Group Manager - Research, The Australian Wine Research Institute. Affiliate Associate Professor, The University of Adelaide

Research management, analytical chemistry and metabolomics, natural product chemistry, formation and fate of aromas and phenolics.For further information, visit the AWRI website.
Dr Ian Dry

Research Group Leader, Horticultural Crop Improvement, CSIRO Plant Industry

Molecular biology, plant-pathogen interactions, plant resistance genes, grapevine pathology, fungal biology.For further information, visit the CSIRO website.
Prof Vlad Jiranek

Professor, School of Agriculture, Food & Wine, The University of Adelaide


Physiology, genetics and optimisation of wine microrganisms. Fermentation and process technology in beverage fermentations.For further information, visit the University of Adelaide website.